Skip to content

Check her out: Black Girl with Long Hair

April 25, 2009

natural1

 Okay, I admit: I have been wanting to go natural for some time now. My cousin’s wife has been wearing her hair natural for years now, and every time she sees me, I get a lecture about chemically treating my hair. Just to clarify, she is not negative or mean, just really positive-natural hair. So yeah, she definitely put a bug in my ear. Since then, out and about in NYC, I am ALWAYS checking out the sistas with natural hair. I find myself staring actually. I am so tempted to ask questions, but I never know if my interest would be taken as an insult.natural2

In either case, I discovered this fantastic blog: black girl with long hair. I love it. It is a great resource and meeting place for sistas with natural hair from around the world.  The author features a Style Series, a New to the Natural Movement Series, Naturals from around the World and more.   She does interviews with readers and gets great feedback regarding daily regimes, favorite styles, tips and techniques.  I love it! 

Okay, I will also confess that I as much as I want to go natural, I am currently in a one year into a 2-year plan to grow my chemically-treated hair out as long as I can before I cut it off.  I don’t know why but I am committed – although I will be following this blog to keep the flame burning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2009 5:51 AM

    I transitioned for a year…or 364 days. Trust me, it was an experience, but one that ended with a big chop leaving me with less than 4 inches of hair. I experimented like crazy for 2 years and loved every minute of it!

    I’m no longer natural…and I may or may not consider going back, but I’m also not relaxed either…just at the texlaxed stage…the sort of in between. I consider my hair more of a fashion statement, and having worn almost every style there is, I can say that natural was probably the most freeing stage as well as experimental.

  2. ALFREDA A BRYANT permalink
    June 2, 2010 5:27 PM

    IM IN THE SAME BOAT SINCE I WENT NATURAL IVE BEEN STARING TOO…. BUT I LOVE IT……

  3. June 25, 2010 8:54 PM

    I have been natural for about 5 years now….started out cutting my hair down to about 2 inches. Loved every bit of it. Needed a change (as we all do from time to time)and decided to loc, liked it. Now just have a bush that I pull back away from my face, but you know whats coming….time for a change. Think I may go back to the 2 inch taper style, but no more perm for me!

  4. October 31, 2010 12:01 PM

    just the mere look of Chris Rock would give you laughs already .

Leave a Reply

